1995: Dear Elected Officials

Standard

I got rid of my car because: American automakers could not make a quality car and the cost of owning a car is expensive. Now, Congress is planning to cut public transportation funding, leaving me without any form of transportation even though I pay taxes to support public transportation.

I got rid of my television because: American television executives could not create quality programs; commercials became excessive; and news programming became superficial.

Will I have to get rid of my radio, too? If Congress allows monopolistic ownership of radio frequencies then I see radio programming going the way of television. Programming will be by the lowest common denominator, with stereotypical announcers, and minimal real news coverage. If a single corporate owner is allowed to own an unlimited amount of radio stations then news available to the public will be severely restricted. Little local news will be covered. Currently, most large newspapers and television stations are owned by a single corporate entity and all their publications and news content are the same. Broad, diverse, in-depth news coverage is not only a product but a public service. I do not support HR Bill 1555.

My favorite radio station is WRC in Silver Spring. WRC offers broad coverage of current news and is more informative than television news. If WRC is forced to sell to a corporate conglomerate, sources for local in-depth news coverage will be scarce.

Every time Congress deregulates an industry, that industry reduces the choices for consumers, raises costs, and reduces service. The marketplace does not always provide quality services or choices for consumers. We are entering a new era of monolithic, multi-national corporate ownership of all pertinent human services.

 

Comments are closed.